I <3 festivals


I justweekends in Tokyo! So this weekend, I went with two friends to Yoyogi park and there, surprise, was a Brazilian Day festival! How about that! I just love that you can just stumble in to a festival while walking around in your favourite district (Shibuya).

Well, actually, we arrived around 7 and then it was kind of over, but still alot of people and food stands left! We hanged around for a while and then we went to Shimokitazawa!
Such a gorgeous little place with all these narrow streets and small shops and Izakayas everywhere!

I just love how there is always something to do and places to see and people to meet!
A lovely start of this weekend and the last train home was not as packed either (^-^)

Sunday I studied for a bit, then I went to Shibuya and walked up to Yoyogi park and the Brazilian Day festival was still going on! I looked at these capoeira-dancers (together with several houndred more) and all of a sudden, there is a drum-sound that echoes through the festival and people start to move to one specific place which ofcourse I do to! And there it was, a group of drummers, starting drumming away to a great beat as they drum they slowly walk their way ahead through the crowd. First of all I have never seen so many brazilian people before in Tokyo and second I have never seen so many Japanese guys shake their buts before! I joined in and started move to the beat as well and it was a great and happy feeling being a part of this happening!

Beers, foods on sticks, slushies and but-shaking! what is there not to enjoy!
After a pineapple-slushy and sausage-on-a-pin and some dancing in the crowd I was pleased and went back to Komazawa before the sky opened up and a heavy rain washed over the sparkeling light and drumming beat that ended one of several festivals in Yoyogi Park!

About TOKI100

You know what you want? Socks from Tokyo! Where do you get them? TOKI100% I give you the ultimate japanized updates, Sweden-style!

Posted on September 5, 2011, in drums, festival, happiness, Inspiration, Japan, Shibuya, sparkeling, Tokyo, weekends in Shibuya, yoyogi park. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

